Saturday, May 26, 2007

2007-2008 Turkcell Super Lig Taking Shape

As Fenerbahce put the finishing touches on a glorious championship campaign, the other three of the "big four" did not find the winning column on the league's final day, and we now know which teams will be making the relegation drop from the Super Lig.

Antalyaspor, Erciyesspor, and Sakaryaspor will be leaving the Turkcell Super Lig. Sakaryaspor had clinched relegation previously, but Kayseri Erciyesspor fell 2-1 to Sivasspor today, and Antalyaspor fell 3-1 to Genclerbirligi to receive the drop. Denizlispor and Caykur Rizespor each earned one point on the day, securing their inclusion in the Turkcell Super Lig for next season.

Two of the three promoted spots from Lig A have been determined, and the third will be earned in an upcoming playoff.

Fenerbahce was the only one of the "big four" who earned points on the last day. Besiktas continued their late-season meltdown with a 3-0 thrashing at Kayserispor. Galatasaray did the same, dropping 2-0 at Bursaspor. Trabzonspor, who are reportedly pursuing Fener goalkeeper Rustu Recber, also fell, losing 2-1 at Ankaraspor.

The final results sees Fener close the season with 70 points, nine points clear of second-place finishers Besiktas with 61 points. Galatasaray finishes third with 56 points, followed by Trabzonspor with 52, and Kayserispor with 51. At the bottom of the table, Caykur Rizespor survives relegation by a single point, finishing with 40.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home